Future Founders & Ford Motor Company Award $15,000 in College Scholarships to Chicago Teens

Last Thursday, Future Founders hosted our “Be Your Own Boss” Summer Entrepreneurship Camp Student Showcase and awarded $15,000 in college scholarships thanks to the generous support of the Ford Motor Company Fund. The event was the culmination of our multi-week camps that taught high school students from CPS how to become entrepreneurs.

Congratulations to the future founders who created scholarship winning apps:

  • Natilie Butler (King College Prep) & Candace Jones (Kenwood Academy), Founders of Cash Right, a financial management tool for young people
  • Maggie Browdy (Whitney Young) & Desire Green (Jane Addams HS), Founders of Easy Read – an app that teaches Pre-K children how to read through visuals and storytelling
  • Austin Hill (Chicago HS for Agricultural Sciences) & Gwenyth Lemaster (Walter Payton College Prep), Founders of Loop – which connects parents and teachers to provide a student feedback “loop”
  • Ahnaya Baker (Perspectives Charter – Joslin) & Kylen Green (King College Prep), Founders of myCounselor – which gives students virtual access to a college guidance counselor
  • Zoey Ellis (Lane Tech) & Dylan Smith (GCE Lab School), Founders of Sports Aid – that helps athletes when they’re injured far from civilization
  • Juan Camacho (Westinghouse College Prep) & Crystal Lin (Whitney Young), Founders of Travel Log – which tracks the user’s location and pictures taken along their journey

Additional congratulations to Xavier Estrada (Kennedy HS) for winning the $500 Josie R. Dunnett “Live Your Dreams” Scholarship presented by Connie and John Rich.

Huge thanks to all of the “investors” who listened to student pitches and provided meaningful feedback.

  • Wesley Anne Barden – Motorola Solutions Foundation
  • Ryan Hesslau – foreverU (2015 Future Founders Fellow)
  • Vinesh Kannan – Omnipointment (2017 Future Founders Fellow)
  • Tom Klehr (Future Founders Entrepreneurial Champion)
  • Nika Koda – Hermit (2016 Future Founders Fellow)
  • Diana Lopez-Obaldo – 1871
  • Christina Marshall-Valdez – Taelur (Future Founders Instructor)
  • Doug Messana – Ford Motor Company
  • Daniel Natsagdorj – Deliveree (2017 Future Founders Fellow)
  • Lisa Portnoy – EY
  • Bill Ridgway – Skadden
  • Jackie Schwartz – Baxter (Future Founders Entrepreneurial Champion)

Special thanks to:

  • Our tremendous camp hosts…
    • Future Founders Board Member Phyllis Lockett and LEAP Innovations for hosting week one in their classroom
    • Future Founders Entrepreneurial Champion Ryan Page and Capital One for hosting week two at The Shop
    • The entire 1871 team (special shoutout Jeanne Reidy) for hosting weeks three and four at 1871
  • The parents and guardians who came out to support their daughters and sons in the camp
  • All the volunteers who participated in focus groups to provide feedback on the students’ apps
  • Future Founders’ very own Nick Prestemon and Jasmine Shells for creating a tremendous camp experience for students
  • Our team of rockstar Future Founders entrepreneurship instructors who inspired students throughout the camps: Salvador DueñasBrittany HoganChristina Marshall-Valdez, and Tatyana Shestopalova